Colorado is known for many things. It is a popular destination for skiing, and people will travel to the state year-round to enjoy its mountains and all its nature. There is another reason for the state experienced an influx in tourism; however, which is owed to the state being one of the first to legalize the recreational use of marijuana. While this drug was considered illegal to possess in any quantity, individuals within the boarders of the state can possess and use marijuana, but there are limits to this. And if an individual is found in violation of the state’s marijuana laws, they could face drug charges and serious penalties.
Colorado marijuana possession laws
State law controls the possession and sale of marijuana in the state. Anyone seeking to purchase marijuana must be at least 21 years of age. Additionally, it must be purchased from a licensed marijuana establishment. An individual cannot be in possession of more than one ounce of marijuana.
Penalties for violating marijuana laws
If an individual is found in possession of more than one ounce but less than two ounces, this is considered a petty offense and results in a fine up to $100. It is considered a Level 2 Drug Misdemeanor to be in possession of two to six ounces of marijuana, resulting in up to 1 year in jail and a fine up to $750.
For personal possession of 6-12 ounces of marijuana, this is considered a Level 1 Drug Misdemeanor and is punishable by up to 18 months in jail and up to $5,000 in fines. Possession of 12 ounces or more is a Level 4 Drug Felony.
Facing a drug charge for being in possession of marijuana can have serious consequences; therefore, it is important to consider the defense options available. Whether that means proving that one was in lawful possession of that quantity of marijuana or the marijuana in question does not belong to them. Asserting a timely and strong defense could help the accused reduce and even dismiss the charges against them.